## ASABE M-162 THE HEERMANN SPRINKLER IRRIGATION AWARD COMMITTEE BYLAWS

- This award shall be presented annually by ASABE, the Society for engineering in agriculture, food, and biological systems, except as otherwise provided in these rules. The M-162 Heermann Sprinkler Irrigation Award Committee shall serve as the Jury of the award.
- 2. Purpose of Award: The purpose of the award is to encourage and recognize engineering excellence in the design, evaluation, operation or management of sprinkler irrigation systems that effectively conserve our valuable resources. The award would recognize those professionals in research, development, extension, education or industry that have made significant contributions to the improvement of efficient and effective sprinkler irrigation.
- 3. The formal presentation shall be made by the President of the Society at the Society's Annual Meeting following the selection of any recipient, or at such time and place designated by the Board of Trustees.
- 4. Each award shall consist of a plaque or suitable engraved award inscribed with the name of the recipient and the circumstances of the award. The Jury shall draft the inscription for the engraving.
- 5. Eligibility for the Award:
  - a. The recipient shall have made noteworthy contributions to the advancement of sprinkler irrigation as set forth in paragraph 2, Purpose of Award.
  - b. The recipient shall be an ASABE member in good standing at the time the nomination is received at ASABE Headquarters. There shall be no limitation except membership in the Society.
- 6. Nominations:
  - a. Any member of the Society in any grade, except members of the Jury, may nominate a candidate for consideration for the award. Nominations will be submitted in accordance with instructions approved by the M-102 Awards Coordinating Committee and available from Society Headquarters. The nomination closure date will be determined by M-102.
  - b. All nominations of candidates received in a year (time from previous year's closure date to the current year's closure date) shall be active for a period of three years and such active list shall be resubmitted to the Jury as provided in paragraph 8(c). Any nomination resubmitted or revised during the three-year active period shall be considered an update of the nomination material and will not cause the length of the nomination active period to be extended. Nominations resubmitted after the three-year active period will be

considered as new nominations and will be continued in force for an additional three years.

- 7. Jury Procedures:
  - a. The Jury for the Heermann Sprinkler Irrigation Award shall receive and screen nominations for the award and select not more than one nominee each year. Its selection shall be subject to approval by M-102. The Jury, also known as the M-162 Heermann Sprinkler Irrigation Award committee, may decline to select anyone to receive the award in any year when it believes it lacks suitable nominations.
  - b. Personnel of the Jury shall be the four most recent recipients of the Heermann Sprinkler Irrigation Award and the Past-Chair of the NRES-241 Sprinkler Irrigation Committee, ASABE or its successors (five total members on the committee). If the number of award recipients and NRES-241 Past-Chairs willing or able to serve on the Jury is insufficient, Jury members may be appointed by the Chair of NRES-241. If a member of the Jury is nominated for the Heermann Award and does not request that the nomination be withdrawn when contacted by Executive Director of ASABE or representative, that member will not be available for service while a candidate for the Award. The recent award recipients will serve a four-year term on the Jury and the NRES-241 Past-Chair will serve a two-year term at the conclusion of their two-year term as NRES-241 Chair. Rotation of Jury membership under this rule will be accomplished at the beginning of the new Society year, which follows the Annual Meeting each year.
  - c. The most recent award recipient shall serve a one-year term as M-162 Secretary. At the beginning of the new Society year, the Secretary shall ascend to the position of M-162 Vice-Chair, the M-162 Vice-Chair shall ascend to the position of M-162 Chair, and the M-162 Chair shall ascend to the position of M-162 Past-Chair. In the absence of the Chair, the Vice-Chair shall preside.
  - d. Jury action to select a nominee for the award for any year shall follow the procedure outlined below:
    - Each member of the Jury will review information on nominees provided by the Executive Director or representative on the nomination closure date set by M-102. This nomination closure date shall be a <u>minimum</u> of two months before the nomination completion date set by M-102.
    - (2) Members of the Jury will evaluate the nominations in a secure online platform before the Jury deliberates. The nominee with the highest average rating will be considered for the award, but selection of the recipient will be based on the deliberation Jury. The chair will seek a consensus from the Jury; if a consensus is not obtained, a vote with a simple majority will be required to select an award recipient.

- (3) The Jury will conduct its business through the online platform, by email, video conference, phone, or any other appropriate method and will complete the selection prior to the date established by M-102. If for any reason the Jury does not make a recommendation to M-102, no award will be made that year.
- 8. The Executive Director:
  - b. The Executive Director of the Society or representative shall be the custodian of the records of the Jury and render such other secretarial services as may be required, but this individual shall have no vote or voice in its deliberations.
  - c. The Executive Director or representative shall cause to be published in an issue of the Society membership communication publication each year, a statement about the award, including an invitation to the Society members to nominate qualified candidates.
  - d. The Executive Director or representative shall send each member of the Jury: 1) a copy of these rules, and 2) the names of all candidates remaining on the active list (see paragraph 6(b)) two months prior to the deadline date set by M-102 for the nomination.
- 9. M-102 Awards Coordinating Committee
  - a. The M-102 Chair shall receive the Jury's recommendations as to changes in rules or procedures.
  - b. The names of the candidate selected by the Jury shall be recommended to the M-102 Chair for the committee's approval. If M-102 approves, the Executive Director shall inform the award nominee.
- 10. All questions arising before the Jury, except the selection of a candidate for an award, shall be decided by a majority vote of the Jury. In the case of a tie, the Chair shall cast the deciding vote.
- 11. The Jury shall have power to decide any questions not specifically covered by these rules.
- 12. These rules may be amended by M-102 under authority by Article B(6)(C), paragraph 3, of the bylaws where the change involves other than procedural matters.

Last Revised: 3/2021