ASABE 2022 Annual International Meeting

Service to the Profession Awards

James R. and Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award



The James R. and Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award honors an ASABE member who is currently providing outstanding academic leadership while serving as the department head/chair of a Biological and Agricultural Engineering Department that presently has an ABET accredited Agricultural/Biological Engineering program and is located in the United States.

Established in 2011, this award was endowed by ASABE Fellow, Dr. James R. Gilley, his wife Karen, and family to recognize academic excellence through service as a department head/chair. The honoree receives a stately fullleaded eagle perched on an engraved optic crystal base.

Previous James R. and Karen A. Gilley Academic Leadership Award Winners

2011	K. C. Ting
2012	Ajit K. Srivastava
2013	Richard J. Straub
2014	Lalit R. Verma
2015	Steven E. Taylor
2016	Bernard Engel
2017	Steven K. Mickelson
2018	Paul H. Heinemann
2019	Sreekala Bajwa
2020	Bryan Jenkins
2021	Garey A. Fox